About Us

Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin (MEUW) is the state association representing the interests of Wisconsin’s community-owned, locally-controlled municipal electric utilities.

The association has been providing service, advocacy and safety initiatives to municipal electric utilities in Wisconsin since 1928. MEUW's 81 member communities range in size from Manitowoc and Sun Prairie, each with a population of 33,000-plus, to Merrillan with around 500 residents. Collectively, these public power utilities --
most with centuries-old roots -- distribute more than 11 percent of the state’s electricity, providing service to some 300,000 customers in 41 of Wisconsin’s 72 counties.

Municipal utilities operate on a not-for-profit basis, overseen by a local governing board composed of local citizens and elected officials. They are dedicated to providing low-cost, reliable electricity to their citizens, farms, businesses and industries.

As a part of our mission MEUW strives to unify and serve as a common voice for municipal utilities and to provide them with the support they need to enhance services to their customers and community. 
MEUW also awards scholarships to support students pursuing careers in electrical power distribution in order to help sustain public power for the future.  

MEUW's Mission:

To unify and strengthen community-owned utilities

… Maximizing their shared interests and celebrating their unique differences – to advance the benefits of public power

MEUW's Vision:
To deliver exceptional programs and services members value

Association News:
MEUW names Tim Heinrich as Executive Director (April 2018)

MEUW Announces New "Powering Futures" Lineworker Scholarship (December 2018) 

MEUW publishes Wisconsin Public Power Directory (January 2019)

MEUW Board of Directors approves long-term Strategic Plan (May 2019)

MEUW Hires Director of Legislative and Regulatory Relations (June 2022)